Explosion of Courage

Posted on February 27, 2011

4


Explosion of Courage

A hunt for second hand bikes took my brothers and me to the heart of Mysore. On that sleepy Sunday afternoon only the closed shutters of the shops welcomed us. Navigating through the gulley’s of Mandi Mohala in our red shinny Indica, we stopped at a garage. I chose to sit in the car as my brothers’ walked out to talk to a mechanic.

A herd of sheep caught my attention as I turned to look out of the window. A man in his mid thirties picked out a well grown sheep and walked away to tie it down. Watching this closely was a young kid, his son. In an attempt to imitate his dad, he grabbed the legs of a sheep near him, no fear in his eyes, an explosion of courage that moment truly was. The sheep in attempts to break free, tried to kick him away, but he held strong trying to pull the sheep towards him. I pulled the camera and pressed hard on the button hoping to have caught the magical moment when a small kid displayed his sense of fearlessness.